The Fairfield Fire Department has the mission of protecting life, environment, and property within the incorporated portions of the City. To effectively complete this mission, the Department has located five fire stations throughout the City, each of which houses one front line fire engine equipped to handle a variety of emergency calls. The five fire stations operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with a combined staffing of 18 personnel on duty. Firefighters work 48-hour tours of duty. There are three work groups called "shifts". Additionally, each shift has a Battalion Chief who acts as the Duty Chief to respond to all structure fires and other major emergencies to provide Incident Command and Scene Management.